ZINES FOR THE MASSES!


I can’t believe I almost forgot to share photos from my experience in helping out with a teen zine workshop! But now is as good a time a any considering International Zine Month is in full swing.

Some time in mid-May a friend of mine, Margarat, who is one-half the awesome duo from Grrrl Zines A-Go-Go, asked if I’d join her in helping out at the San Diego Museum of Art’s Teen Cafe. The Teen Cafe is a program that gives teens the chance to be introduced to SDMA exhibitions through art making. As part of the Teen Cafe, we had the opportunity to show guests how to create their own mini and quarter page zines, as well as have a zine library on display.

In all honesty, most of the teens had no idea what zines were. I’m not gonna lie, I felt my age, even if for a fleeting…

View original post 189 more words