Inspiration Station: Reading A Friend’s Manuscript


I see these a lot around my neighborhood

Rachel Poli

Reading a Friends Manuscript

How many of you have been asked by your close friend to read their manuscript and give them feedback on it? I’m sure many–if not all–of us have.

My sister Kris writes and we read each other’s stories all the time. Sometimes we read them when they’re finished, other times we read scenes at a time in case we need different opinions in the middle of writing.

When Kris reads my stories, she always has something decent to say about it. When I read her stories, I tell her, “that was good. I want to read more.”

She stares at me blankly expecting more, but I never know what else to say. I’ve never been good at editing, even for my own stories. The very first time I started editing I only looked for typos and such. It was hard for me to look at my plot more deeply, to…

View original post 753 more words

2 thoughts on “Inspiration Station: Reading A Friend’s Manuscript

Comments are closed.